I Tried To Change My Medium Strategy With These Tactics in January

The algorithm is ever-changing — that means we should change too.

Linda Ng
5 min readFeb 7, 2023

--

Life is always changing. We should be changing along with it. This is a photo from Melaka! It’s a restaurant, isn’t it super cool? (photo provided by Linda Ng)

My earnings on Medium have fluctuated quite a bit from month to month. In January, I figured I’d try a few different tactics to see if I can improve my strategy. Read on to find out what I did!

If you’re a new writer, this may help you figure out your path on Medium as well.

Headlines

Headlines make or break your story. I know it’s true because I spend a split second scanning headlines. If they don’t catch my attention, I won’t click it. It’s a true art to find the perfect headline and not run into clickbait territory. In January, I decided to use longer headlines! They would give more information about what the reader can anticipate.

My results for January have been good, so I think I can continue down this path.

When the reader knows more about what the story is about, they can make a better decision about reading it or not.

Check out these two headlines below. Which one do you like better?

1️⃣ Make A Pretty Garden

--

--