FOOD

Will This $6 Apple Make Me Fly?

I can’t believe these prices. It’s utterly ridiculous!

Linda Ng
5 min readJan 4, 2023

--

What a delicious fruit platter! Photo by Jane Doan

I wrote a story about mangosteen awhile back. Naturally, as soon as I talked about it, my subconsciousness told me to go look for it. So I did. Long story short, mangosteen isn’t readily available in Canada. It’s expensive to import because it spoils very quickly. I don’t think I’ve ever seen it available anywhere! I still wanted to try to look for it.

My short-lived hunt for mangosteen wasn’t successful. I did go home empty-handed, but on my little quest, I encountered a whole whack of other fruit that simply wowed me.

I’ve never seen such expensive fruit before.

To test my luck with the mangosteen, I visited a grocery story in Markham called Freshway. I remember seeing a lot of different types of fruit there. I didn’t look closely before, so I wondered if mangosteen was available there.

Freshway is a supermarket in Markham. I’ve been there a few times and everything looks great. (photo provided by Linda Ng)

Low and behold, I didn’t find any mangosteen. I did come across some of the most expensive fruit I’ve ever seen though! 💸 My jaw literally dropped at the prices. People must have thought I was crazy for snapping…

--

--